Skip to main content
Trials and Tribulations of Dirty Shame, Oklahoma: And Other Prose Poems (Mary Burritt Christiansen Poetry)

Trials and Tribulations of Dirty Shame, Oklahoma: And Other Prose Poems (Mary Burritt Christiansen Poetry)

Current price: $18.95
Publication Date: February 15th, 2024
Publisher:
University of New Mexico Press
ISBN:
9780826365958
Pages:
72
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days

Description

Trials and Tribulations of Dirty Shame, Oklahoma beautifully showcases Comanche gothic literature, a new genre in Indigenous literature, at its creative best. In the tradition of The Iliad and Paradise Lost, this book is an epic poem of heroic and biblical proportions. Three Indigenous young people discover that the Holy Grail has been on the North American continent for centuries, and in Oklahoma for the last two. Battling both human and supernatural enemies, Velroy, Mia, and Stoney struggle to get the Holy Grail out of Indian Country to save their families and community and bring true peace back to their ordinary, Dirty Shame lives.